Driving on the other side and British English

OK, not driving, I’m just biking. It took me no time at all to get used to keeping to the left, but still every time when I meet a car at a roundabout, I always make eye contact with the person next to the driver to see who will go first… Sometimes they even show with their hands that I can and I realize only later that it wasn’t the driver…

I also wonder why the hell in English class we used to learn about kettles and missed such words as lozenge and laryngitis which appear a lot more in every day life here… Not to mention “sick”. Whenever I told someone that Kasu is sick, they always ask back how many times has she been sick. I’m like how the hell do you count that… By now we have learned “ill”…

Leave a Reply

